Giving Thanks

Today, we had 21 people from my mom’s side of the family over for Thanksgiving dinner and went through the usual of greetings, small talk, EATINGEATINGEATING, and concluding with the inevitable heated debates.

Now usually, I don’t mind these debates because they usually involve sports or inconsequential things; however, one of my uncles made a rather insensitive comment about Obamacare in relation to the clientele that I work with (okay, he didn’t direct that comment at me, and he may have had some wine, but still…) and it was really hurtful; I took it personally and I had to leave the table so I wouldn’t yell at him.

Rather than getting angrier, I realized that everyone is entitled to their own opinion; however, we also have a duty to educate ourselves. At our biweekly training, we watched a video that summarized the new healthcare reform policies very well, and I feel more comfortable now that I know exactly how it affects me and my clients. I’ve attached the video in case anyone wants to watch it, and I’m very tempted to send it to my uncle.

In other news, since it’s Thanksgiving, I am very thankful that my friend Hannah prompted me to join LIFT last year; I would be a completely different person if she had not recommended me for the position. I would not be as outspoken about issues regarding poverty and I would not know the joy of finding someone an affordable apartment or successfully guiding someone through a public benefits application. To put it simply: my sense of purpose would be woefully incomplete had I not volunteered at this organization, and I thank my clients and Site Coordinators for helping me in more ways than they know.

Enjoy the rest of break, everyone 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment